Far-Fetched Friday: CeeDee Lamb Wins 2020 NFL Rookie of The Year


Welcome back to Far-Fetched Friday, where every Friday we give you a bold prediction that we believe will come to fruition. This Friday, the most appropriate prediction has to revolve around the 2020 NFL Draft.

In true Cowboy style, CeeDee Lamb's name was trending all over twitter before he even caught a pass. One part because he was a great pick that late in the first round, second part because he showed off his quick hands and natural reflexes on national tv for the world to see. CeeDee Lamb, Mr. You Can't CeeDis phone (I know that's an awful joke, sorry), will win the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year trophy. 

Dak Prescott was the last Cowboy to win the trophy in 2016, and before that, it was Emmitt Smith in 1990. CeeDee Lamb will follow in those same footsteps this upcoming season. There will be plenty of opportunities to get open with Amari Cooper lining up on the other side, not to mention Dak Prescott exploded for a ton of passing yards last season. This is not the Dak Prescott of old, this version of Dak is more than willing to let loose, throwing for 4,902 yards last season, over a thousand more than the season before.

Admittedly CeeDee Lamb will probably need at least a thousand receiving yards to be in contention, and the Cowboys already have two thousand-yard receivers in Amari Cooper and Michael Gallup. The opportunity comes from the exit of Randall Cobb and Jason Witten, two players that accounted for 1,357 receiving yards last season.

CeeDee Lamb is more than talented enough to reach a thousand receiving yards. After all, he was the NFL's highest-rated Wide Receiver prospect going into the draft. The Cowboys lucked into him at number 17, and with that, he gets to join the NFL's second-most explosive passing offense.

The key to this prediction is that I am super confident a Wide Receiver will win Offensive Rookie of the Year this season. Odell Beckham won in 2014, Percy Harvin in 2009, Aquan Boldin in 2003, Randy Moss in 1998, and Carl Pickens in 1992. That means over the last 28 years, five wide receivers have won the award in periods of 6 years, 5 years, 6 years, and 5 years again, meaning a 6 year period is next. It's been 6 years since OBJ won in 2014, so a wide receiver will win once again.

There'll be some tough competition with many analysts calling this one of the deepest Wide Receiver classes in NFL history. Lamb was just one of an NFL Record six wide receivers taken in the first round last night. Going into the draft, Lamb was the near-consensus first wide receiver off the board, but for whatever reason, he went third. At number 17, Jerry Jones and the Cowboys couldn't possibly pass on Lamb.

The Dallas Cowboys are probably the most maligned team in American sports. There is something about rooting against the Cowboys that makes the average fan more accepting of their team's miserable situation no matter how bad. The Cowboys do sometimes get things right, and this is one of those situations.

My prediction is that CeeDee Lamb will win the NFL Rookie of The Year trophy. Dang it, I'll go one step further, we will Cee CeeDee win a Super Bowl trophy in a Dallas jersey before his career ends.

Latest posts in our blog

Read what's new this week

Guys, I am devastated. I let you all down last year. It was right under my nose that UConn would win the championship, but I missed it due to poor data collection. I began last year's prediction by saying a team with eight losses would win March Madness, and in listing all the teams that qualified, I somehow missed...

A new season is upon us, and with it comes plenty of intriguing storylines. From massive traves and superstar uncertainty in the East to a West perhaps the deepest it has ever been, here is an early season NBA Power ranking.