2018 NFL Awards Prediction


The 2018 NFL regular season ended this weekend and it was one of the most surprising we've had in recent years. We were far off our preseason prediction placing the Chiefs at last place in the division, and the Jacksonville Jaguars fell well short of our preseason prediction of a Super bowl berth. However, the Cleveland Browns were as good as we predicted and the Rams are in position to make it to the Super bowl.

With the regular season over, it is time to hand out the individual awards. Here is our list of who should win each award and why:

Most Valuable Player: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs

Mahomes was one of just two quarterbacks to throw for 5,000+ yards. His 50 touchdowns were 11 more than any other player. Mahomes also became the second quarterback ever to throw for 5,000 yards and 50 touchdowns. It's really not a race, Patrick Mahomes was by far the most valuable player in the NFL this season.

Offensive Player of the Year: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs

I never quite understood how an offensive player could win MVP but not offensive player of the year. If you are good enough to win the MVP then by default you should win the offensive player of the year or defensive player of the year depending on what side of the ball you play on. Splitting the award makes no sense and by default Patrick Mahomes is also offensive player of the year.

Defensive Player of the Year: Kahlil Mack, Chicago Bears

The overwhelming favorite for the award is Aaron Donald of the Los Angeles Rams due to his lead leading 20.5 sacks. However, that should have no correlation with the award. Last season Donald won defensive player of the year despite finishing 11th in sacks because what should matter is how your defensive contribution contributes to your team's defensive success. I have no doubt the Rams would be worse off defensively without Rams but at the end of the day they have the 20th ranked defense in the NFL this season. The award should go to a player whose defensive contributions have made a greater impact on his team's defensive standing. The Chicago Bears are by far the best defense in the NFL and Kahlil Mack is the reason why.

Coach of the Year: Matt Nagy, Chicago Bears

The Bears on paper have no outstanding receivers, an average running back and a limited quarterback. Yet somehow, they pulled together a 12 and 4 record and the first division championship since 2010. Matt Nagy in his first season as a head coach as turned around a franchise that finished 5 and 11 last season.

Comeback Player of the Year: JJ Watt, Houston Texans

This was a very close call between Andrew Luck and JJ Watt, both out of the AFC South. The two match up for the third time this season in the wild card round of the playoffs on Saturday. Most want to give the award to Andrew Luck because he missed all of last season and came back to lead his team into the playoffs. Well what about JJ Watt? He played a combined total of 8 games in the last two seasons after suffering two major potentially career ending injuries. JJ Watt returned as one of the best defensive players in the game and should win the comeback player of the year.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Baker Mayfield, Cleveland Browns

The idea that some suggest this award should go to Saquon Barkley is absolutely ridiculous. Barkley was outstanding for the Giants but Baker Mayfield had one of the greatest rookie regular seasons of all time not to mention leading the Browns to 7 wins a year after they finished 0 and 16.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers

The clear pick for defensive rookie of the year is Derwin James. Derwin James might already be the best safety in football, no really, the number one safety in all of football. Leighton Vander Esch, Bradley Chubb, and Darius Leonard round out what was a great rookie class on the defensive side of the ball but Derwin James is the man that helped the Chargers to their best record in 9 years.

We are probably wrong on most of this, but with our analysis these are the players that should win each award.

Latest posts in our blog

Read what's new this week

Guys, I am devastated. I let you all down last year. It was right under my nose that UConn would win the championship, but I missed it due to poor data collection. I began last year's prediction by saying a team with eight losses would win March Madness, and in listing all the teams that qualified, I somehow missed...

A new season is upon us, and with it comes plenty of intriguing storylines. From massive traves and superstar uncertainty in the East to a West perhaps the deepest it has ever been, here is an early season NBA Power ranking.